Skip to content

Fast Food Facebook

January 28, 2011

We’re rushed. Work, kids, and just keeping up leave little time to take time for things truly nourishing. Line up at the drive-up, call for take out, or answer the door “It’s Domino’s” replace buying and preparing the fruits, vegetables, whole grains and lean meat that comprise a nutritious meal.

The fast food culture is invading our relationships, too, and the junk food of choice is Facebook. Who takes the time and thought to write a personal note, pick up the phone, or stop for a visit when it takes just seconds to connect to hundreds of “friends” with a status update?

Despite my hundreds of Facebook friends, there were only a handful that came to mind when I was in need, proving the adage, “A friend in need is a friend indeed.” The friendships I’ve been feeding with Facebook are so malnourished that they don’t have the strength to stand on their own. Time for a new diet – one fed with face time rather than Facebook time and one where communication relies on “hand width” rather than bandwidth. The junk food fast food Facebook diet is being replaced by more nourishing habits that I know will lead to greater relationship health.

There is still a place for Facebook, just like it’s okay to have the occasional Big Mac when the kitchen is too far away.  But a Facebook-fed relationship shouldn’t be a way of life if it’s not a way to love.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:20 pm

    I love you, Rosemarie! I’m going to miss you on Facebook, but I know what you mean … sometimes we need to disconnect in order to reconnect.

  2. Paula permalink
    January 29, 2011 8:47 am

    Hi Rosemarie,
    I completely agree with you. I feel isolated sometimes because I use the computer too much for socialization. Call me and let’s go for a walk, talk and just enjoy each others’ company.

    Paula

  3. Gale permalink
    January 31, 2011 11:46 am

    So true in so many ways Rosemarie. I hide 90% of the “friends” on FB so I can keep in touch with those I want to hear everything they have to say – and you are one of those people. I don’t have trouble with FB as long as it doesn’t become a drug like TV and video games.

  4. February 18, 2011 9:22 am

    Thought I could find you here 🙂 What you’re saying is so true-yet when someone like you leaves that forum, there is a void-at least for me. I still write lots of personal notes to people but find FB a link to the world when I am working, as I must, in isolation. While paint is drying, I log on and get a chuckle or watch a video (miss Little Tom!) Many of my FB friends are visual artists from around the world-something I have since also found on some art web sites like Fine Art America, where our interactions and mutual support are more meaningful.
    Jim and I were away on vacation so don’t know if you posted your intentions. Last night it occurred to me I hadn’t seen a post from you since we got back online the 14th. Hope all is well-best to John.

Leave a Reply

