Skip to content

On Grammy Track

February 22, 2010

For the two people that follow my blog regularly, you may be wondering where I’ve been since my last posting in September.  How did I get off-track?

This isn’t the first time something like this has happened to me.  Back in 1988, I left my full time job as an analytical chemist to stay home with my daughter and newborn son.  As described in song by John Lennon, it was a time for me to step off of the merry-go-round and enjoy watching the wheels go around.  Others called it “mommy track.”

Over the years, curbstones of that track became worn and I got “in the game” again. Even after formal employment ended for me last year, pursuit of new learning within public relations – social media, blogging, accreditation – were keeping me busy, that is until autumn arrived.

Then, on a Saturday in mid-September, I became a grandmother and discovered that all the mushy and overbearing proclamations about the Wonders of Grandchildren are actually true.  There is no more wonderful person in the world than my Baby Tom.  My world changed on that day as a dream I never thought I had became real.

So, that’s where I’ve been – on Grammy Track – playing, feeding, changing, walking, burping, rocking, and loving Baby Tom.  I hope I’m on this track for a long time, but I’m ready to get back into the game, too.

Stay tuned for musings!


2 Comments leave one →
  1. Charlotte Holland permalink
    February 22, 2010 11:46 am

    And what a wonderful place to be in life…diapering, feeding, playing etc. I miss my ‘baby days’ with my twins. They were some of my most challenging days, but missed all the same.

  2. February 22, 2010 3:38 pm

    I’ve seen your energy and believe you can have it all. Seems the older we get, the smarter we use our time-enjoy every moment!

Leave a Reply

