Skip to content

Game On, Life On

September 3, 2009

Because my mouth tends to say “yes” before my mind thinks “no,” I agreed to be part of a group diet called, “The Game On Diet.”  It was an easier “yes” than most since Wendy Thomas was organizing it (a phenomenal woman) and I had several pounds to lose.  Plus, it only lasts for four weeks so the light at the end of the tunnel was visible…dim, but visible.

The diet is based on the book, The Game On Diet, by Krista Vernoff and Az Ferguson, but it’s not really a diet.  It’s a game where teams compete with other teams to get the most points.  Points are earned daily by team members and based on eating the right stuff five times a day, exercising 20 minutes, sleeping 7 hours, drinking 3 liters of water, giving up a bad habit and adopting a good one.  There are rules like no soda, no diet soda, and no alcohol (except for a weekly meal off and weekly day off).  If I had known about the alcohol thing before I said “yes,” my mind would have stapled and duct taped my mouth shut, but I’ve adjusted without my evening wine.

Well, we are now in the middle of week three and some amazing things are happening.  I’m losing weight – over 6 pounds so far – I had no desire to grab the mini Hershey bars sitting right in front of me during an hour meeting yesterday, I am actually exercising six days a week, I’ve met some cool women (and a MAN who’s on it), and the most absolutely, positively amazing thing – I’M ENJOYING IT.  I feel great, my skin is better, and I’m actually SAD that it will be over in a week and a half.  I’m already planning on organizing another one in a month or so.

I’m doubtful that my team will win as we had a rough start and there are these sassy sisters who are blowing the competition out of the water, but that’s okay. My team is on track for winning this week and I know that I will stay on track for a long, long time.

Why?  I’m not thinking about food, I’m not deprived, I’m HAVING FUN.  As far as reading trends, I’m convinced the Game On Diet will be the biggest thing to influence healthy habits and dieting.  If it was stock, I’ll sell the house and buy as many shares as I could!

One Comment leave one →
  1. wethomas permalink
    September 3, 2009 9:53 pm

    I’m just amazed at what this game is doing. One of my sisters is finding that she is spending more time with her husband while they exercise together. I see women meeting new life long friends to get together for walks and supporting each other. This is a game like no other, there seems to be a little magic here. Glad you’re enjoying it.

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

