Skip to content

Ten Cheap Treats

June 22, 2009

Simple pleasures can be the best, especially when they come at little or no cost.  Here’s my list of Cheap Treats (in no particular order). 

  • A tube of petroleum jelly.  I’m allergic to lanolin, which is in about every lipstick, lip balm, lip gloss imaginable.  This stuff keeps my lips from drying and I use it on my cuticles, too.  A pack of 2 is 99 cents at Target and I keep tubes around the house, in my purse, and car.
  • Eucerin Q10 Anti-Wrinkle sensitive face crème.  I’ve been using this for at least four months and it really works and at the fraction of the cost of expensive brands.  I got my jar at Walgreen’s for about 6 bucks and have plenty left.  A little goes a long way.
  • Sally Hansen’s new quick dry nail polish.  I read a favorable review in O Magazine and went out and bought some at Walmart.  It goes on great, is true to its name, and holds up as good as expensive polish.
  • Lemon in water.  There’s something “ta ta” about drinking water with a lemon slice in it – think Four Seasons Hotel.  One slice a day lasts through multiple 16 ounce glasses helping me get in my daily fluids and it satisfies soda cravings while saving money on bottled or flavored water.  I drink hot water with lemon, too, and it’s great.
  • Good sheets. I cruise the sale section of HomeGoods or Marshall’s and have picked up two high end, 600(?) count cotton sheets for the same price as cotton blends.  What a difference there is sleeping on good sheets!  They last forever so in the long run, this luxury ends up being a better deal.
  • Ditto above for thick, cotton towels.
  • Cloth napkins.  I’ve been using cloth napkins in place of paper ones for about 15 years.  I picked up 20 at Burlington Coat Factory for 25 cents on sale, and for the most part, they are still in service, with some newer ones added here and there when the price was right.  I save money on paper napkins and using cloth napkins makes the meal experience more special (think Four Seasons again).
  • Really dark chocolate.  A little goes a long way, so it’s okay to invest in some good stuff as the cost per chocolate fix will be the same.  I recommend Pure Dark (you have to get this in Greenwich Village-NYC).
  • An herb garden. There’s nothing like snipping off some fresh mint, chives, cilantro, basil, parsley or dill and adding it to a salad or recipe.  Except for basil, they winter over quite nicely in New England and save me lots of money compared to the price of fresh herbs from the grocery store.
  • Fresh flowers and greens from the garden.  When the peonies were in bloom, I cut a couple and put them in a small glass globe.  Lilies, forsythia, roses, even pine boughs add a special touch and are free!

What are your cheap treats?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 4:10 pm

    Rosemarie, those are great tips and some of them I already use (cloth napkins, herbs and lemon water.) Am going to try the nailpolish and wrinkle cream (groan). One tip I got from “Kimmie” on the Ellen Show is to use children’s white glue — craft glue vs. pore strips. Just smooth some on and when it dries peel it off and it’s as good as Biore. There, summer is complete with also real Aloe that you snip if you get a burn (summer or otherwise) and it heals you quickly. Just smells lousy.

  2. June 23, 2009 4:28 pm

    Thanks for the Pure Dark shout! Hopefully the website will be up and running in the near future, so a trip to NYC won’t be necessary to get the chocolate!

Leave a Reply

