Skip to content

Ironic Biotic

June 4, 2009

I am amazed by this breathtakingly beautiful (in a unique way) Ladyslipper that I found in the woods.  It grows among rotting leaves, trees, and brush with not a lot of sunshine filtering through. I’ve watched it over the years, hoping it would reproduce, but there’s only one other, bloomless offspring.

On the other hand, I’m waging arm-to-arm combat on violets that have turned into a full yard assault on my backyard gardens.  From the 10 plants I ignorantly plopped in the ground a few years ago, I have a gazillion growing everywhere.  I haven’t resorted to the gardener’s version of chemical warfare, but my patience is trying.  If only their reproduction gene could be spliced into the Ladyslipper…

IMG_1183

Ironic bionics are everywhere.  Look at botulism.  Instant killer, but just a little dab will do ya if you’re looking for the mirror of youth.  E coli, commonly known as eschericea coli, is vital to our digestive system, but keep it alive in a Big Mac and you will be sick, sick, sick.  Aren’t they all going to the stomach anyway?

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 1:58 pm

    Couldn’t agree more on the wild violets. They’ve positively taken over my garden! Like you I thought I would be kind and let a few fill unused space. What a mistake!! And, like grass, they only seem to grow really well where you don’t want them!!! Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

